Message sent from:

Reading Schemes We Use In The EYFS and Key Stage One

At Mark Cross, we use a range of reading schemes that link in with our approach to phonics. Children in EYFS and Key Stage One are taught daily, systematic, synthetic phonics which follow the DfES scheme; “Letters and Sounds”.

Our books are colour banded and within each band, the children experience real breadth to support their confidence as a reader as well as to give an appropriate level of challenge. Within our scheme, children will also have the opportunity to read “real” books which we hope will help them to develop a love for reading.

Children are assessed regularly throughout the year to ensure they are on the appropriate level and that they are making good progress in their reading as they move up through the school.

The reading schemes we use include the following;

Songbirds (OUP)

Floppy’s Phonics (OUP)

Oxford reading Tree (OUP)

Big Cat Phonics (Collins)

Jelly + Bean (Jelly + Bean Ltd)

Rigby Star Readers (Heinemann)

Literacy Links (Shortland Publications)

Rhyme World (Heinemann)

Hit enter to search